The area has a long history, with the first recorded European settlements occurring around 1776. Muncy proper boasts an extraordinary mix of period architecture: Gothic, Federal, Colonial, Victorian, and Quaker styles, prompting the local Chamber of Commerce to adopt the motto: “Older than Yesterday – Younger than Tomorrow.” The school district, too, has a long history. The first school board of directors was formed in 1834. No less than 20 Borough schools, private seminaries, and academies were located in the region in the twenty years until 1855 when the first high school officially opened. The present high school building was completed in 1932 and originally served children in grades 1 through 12. The Muncy Elementary School opened in 1957.
Since that time, there have been building additions, renovations, and careful maintenance of both Muncy Junior Senior High and Ward L. Myers Elementary School. Due to community sensitivity about the historical fieldstone façade of the high school building as well as several very old oak trees in the front of the building, renovations and additions have been carefully planned and situated in the rear of the building. The district’s central office facilities are located at 206 Sherman Street. The offices are attached to the high school building and have a separate entrance. In June 2004, a $10.9 million project was completed at the elementary school. A two story 18,884 sq. ft. addition was constructed containing a library media center, computer labs, regular and special education classrooms, reading support rooms, a conference/seminar room and office space. As part of the same project, the remainder of the building was reconfigured and completely renovated.
The district submitted a Comprehensive Plan to the Pennsylvania Department of Education in the summer of 2014. The plan was approved in July of 2014. The comprehensive plan is effective from July 1, 2015 through June 30, 2018.